The original building that Upfront & Company now occupies
was constructed between 1882-1885. The Victorian-Italiante structure
was built using Portage Entry sandstone and local Marquette Variegated
sandstone. From 1885 to 1930, the building housed many businesses,
such as clothiers, grocery, hardware, and shoe stores. In 1884,
saloons and a wholesale liquor dealer occupied all five storefronts.
Then, in 1928, the building shifted ownership yet again, and
was made into the Adam's Hotel. So it remained until 1968.
By 1973, the building was under new ownership once more, and
was renamed The Rosewood Inn. This enterprise lasted ten years,
but by 1983 the building was under "deathwatch" due
to interior decay. The tired canopy precariously sagged over
the sidewalk, while pedestrians cautiously avoided the dangerous-looking
overhang. The city of Marquette issued demolition orders five
times, yet each time a court injunction stopped the wrecking
ball. Storefront windows encrusted with years of dirt, and a
deteriorating facade, caused the City to cordon off the building
before someone was injured.
However, in 1990, Upfront & Company purchased the building,
and in July 1995 began the extensive renovations needed to transform
the tired aged building into Marquette's premiere restaurant,
night club and banquet facilities. Stone foundation walls were
cut away to open space for a dance floor, multiple bars, a stage,
and a dining area. Original dirt floors were replaced with colorful
tile and salvaged bowling lanes from the Eastwood Lanes. The
Eastwood Lanes also found new life on our dining room tables.
Trestle wood from the old ore dock-more of Marquette's history-was
recycled in the Upfront building. It is found in our Banquet
Hall, and in various other areas throughout the building.
We are proud to have revitalized a piece of Marquette's unique
past, and to also be part of the City's future.
back to top^